carless

Nope, not a typo- not announcing that I’ve gone all wonky-eyed and reckless. Living without a care in the world, too free wheelin’ to even bother with spell check. I am writing to say that as of this morning, we are living without a car in our world. And right here in the Motor City. That may be against the rules if anyone here paid attention to that sort of technicality. Some may in fact argue that going carless is careless. I say it’s just one less care, but don’t fret, we’re always careful. I digress.
Our transportation situation is transforming in preparation for our move. I work 4 miles from home and have a trusty old Schwinn, Cool Breeze. My one concern is whether Michigan’s notoriously unpredictable weather will cooperate. Though with one week remaining, I can’t say it actually registers as a concern so much as a shoulder shrug.

Met up with friends for lunch this afternoon and rode the BMW. I think it’s like 40 outside so it was cold but not intolerable. I love riding on the back of Snakes’ bike. (Words a mother hopes she never hears, I’m lucky mine has a sense of humor and adventure.) Now that our days are truly numbered (pack out in 11 days) I’m detaching from this city, able to view things through a different lens, almost like an anthropologist. Observing the landscape and the people; more interesting and unique than when it was my home and it just bummed me out. So much is broken, buildings burned out or abandoned, thousands of acres of neglect. It makes me wonder if this is one of the reasons I’ve moved so often throughout my life. Moving lends itself to careful observation, which inspires me tremendously. You sacrifice tending a lush and well-loved garden of your own design for the possibility of patio tomatoes, windowsill herbs and fresh cut flowers from the market. You trade your ever evolving domestic style for one that’s easily packed into crates, simple to pick up and plop down efficiently, wherever we may land.

better days ahead
6 thoughts on “carless

    1. yes, it’s an I-75 overpass. An evening walk we take with the dogs to go feed the goats and pot belly pigs who live in a vacant lot on the other side of the freeway.

    1. Renee!!! Noticed you started following a week or so back. I was delighted to see that. I will be in Nola may 19-25. Maybe I will see you?

  1. It’s Friday, and that means that the Weekly State Department Blog Roundup is up – and you’re on it!

    Here is the link:

    http://bit.ly/aSBoLT

    (If I quoted your text or used your photo(s) and you would rather I had not, please let me know. Please also be sure to check the link(s) that I put up to you, in order to verify that they work properly. If you would rather that I had not referenced you, and/or do not want me to reference you in the future, please also contact me.)

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

