moving in mysterious ways

The other day Snakes had a hallway conversation with one of our neighbors. The guy was convinced that we were “hiding out” after knocking off a bank or holding up a drug dealer, vigilantes-on the run from the law. He suggested that we didn’t look like we really belonged here, dressed a little too nice, seemed a little too happy, both carried iphones. (wha?) And ever since moving in (back in January) Snakes hasn’t worked. Which, I guess in some circles, translates to independent wealth or bank robber/vigilantes. The neighbor even mentioned that he figured our 12+ year old vehicles were just a ruse, meant to throw people off our trail. I love to think that the people I pass in the mail area consider me “dangerous”, like it’s possible that if necessary, I could totally kick their ass. Maybe I’ll start dressing like a Ninja to really throw them off, lurking in the shadows of our dreary unlit parking lot. I think it’s a good thing we are leaving. Three days of unemployment and my imagination is already blazing with antics and stunts.

And speaking of leaving…I am listening to the shushing, clinking, scraping cardboard progress of the movers in the next room. (We all just shared a laugh about the “Newsroom Bad Boy” inscribed xxxl-sized beer mug. “Ooohhh, awesome… I’ll wrap that baby twice!!”) Today is our pack-up and tomorrow the pack out. We’ll have a few days left here in the motor city, staying at the Westin Book Cadillac for the next 3 nights. (Thanks to Shatner, we got an amazing deal, coming in under per diem!) We have 4th row, behind the dugout tickets to a Tiger’s game on Saturday. There’s one more goodbye dinner and one final cocktail hour. Our plan is to spend the remainder of our time as tourists in Detroit. I hope to do a nice post dedicated to our fair (soon to be X-) city. We are leaving Sunday in a Uhaul for DC, the four of us packed into the front (Reggie in the “honeyseat” of course), the motorcycle, my studio and our bags of cash stashed in the back, twenty dollar bills fluttering in our wake as we tear off down I-75.

4 thoughts on “moving in mysterious ways

  1. It’s Friday, and that means that the Weekly State Department Blog Roundup is up – and you’re on it!

    Here is the link:

    http://bit.ly/9MFF60

    (If I quoted your text or used your photo(s) and you would rather I had not, please let me know. Please also be sure to check the link(s) that I put up to you, in order to verify that they work properly. If you would rather that I had not referenced you, and/or do not want me to reference you in the future, please also contact me.)

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

