the brain workout

whew. With week three complete, we’ve only 21 more to go. Time slips past as each weekend comes more quickly than the last and in the blink of an eye Monday morning is pounding at the door, Portuguese text in hand, conjugating verbs and randomly contracting articles with prepositions. My mind and body are exhausted. In the orientation they warned us that this is like Marine boot camp, but for your brain instead of your body. I remember snickering, imagining my brain painted in camouflage, dragging itself on elbows through thick weeds with heavy Portuguese texts strapped to its medulla oblongata. Getting jolted from sweet sweet slumber each morning by a big mean jowly brain who constantly demanded push-ups and called my brain a lazy good for nothing. But then I remembered that brains don’t have elbows or jowls. That’s just silly.

I have a couple of years of college Spanish under my belt which offers a tiny advantage when studying Portuguese since the languages have so many similarities.  I know this won’t last for much longer, but it’s allowed me to keep on truckin in my studio in preparation for the few shows I’ve managed to line up between now and October.  My latest design is a simple tote, body of heavy fabric (upholstery/home dec) and leather accents (strap and reinforced bottom). We had friends over for dinner last night and after showing off my new stuff, she commissioned a matching bag, wallet and business card case.

Dinner was great. It was perfect to sip a little too much deliciously quenching rose (thanks guys!), commiserate about this heat wave, language training (they’re both studying Arabic in preparation for a move to Syria), tell stories and laugh into the wee hours. Snakes busted out his homemade fettuccine alfredo moves.

To balance that out, I made a tangy “green goddess” salad with an herbal vinaigrette and garlic roasted broccoli with parmesan and lemon. Although we had some fragrant and perfectly ripe mangoes on deck for dessert, we opted for a walk down the street for milkshakes at Good Stuff instead. Of course I always like to pretend that since we’re walking for about 10 minutes to said milkshake shack it cancels out a couple of the effects. (I’m so good at deluding myself.)

In related news… my diet is not going so well. Those 10+ post nuptial pounds are not going to lose themselves.  Sadly, I fear that FSI brain boot camp is no match for fettuccine alfredo and 11pm milkshakes. Time to get serious.

9 thoughts on “the brain workout

  1. Love the new bag. Seems like it would be great for work. I’m sure you’re doing great with portugese. Post the details about your shows. Maybe a day escape is in store for me. Love to you and all your boys.

    1. v & lbjz-
      I have ambitiously applied (and been accepted) to the following shows…
      8/14-15 Saturday and Sunday 10-5 Shaw neighborhood street fair.
      9/11 Saturday 11-6 Arts on Foot on F street NW btwn 7-9th
      10/2 Crafty Bastards 10-5 in the Adams Morgan neighborhood
      10/16 Falling for Handmade 10-5 in Gaithersburg, MD

      If you can’t make it down for any of those, don’t fear, I plan to apply to some holiday shows as well. Thank you both so much for your sweet intentions! xo

      1. My friend C lives in Gaithersburg and we want to visit DC and you both in the fall, perhaps we could do that show!!!!! All of them sound sooo classy and in well known neighborhoods.

  2. It’s Friday, and that means that the Weekly State Department Blog Roundup is up – and you’re on it!

    Here is the link:
    http://www.vonhinken.com/?p=782

    (If I quoted your text or used your photo(s) and you would rather I had not, please let me know. Please also be sure to check the link(s) that I put up to you, in order to verify that they work properly. If you would rather that I had not referenced you, and/or do not want me to reference you in the future, please also contact me.)

  3. Funny thing,… You are my favorite author! Although I may not write right away, I check for your updates almost daily, sometimes even reading them again ( they are so good).
    Does Snakes have a blog, or would the competition be too tempting.
    Two great authors under one roof- such eloquence .

    1. Steve! You make me laugh! And, no, Snakes does not blog. When I started this I hoped it would be a joint effort, but it seems as if it’s turned into my “thing”. I enjoy it. But it would be great to have another perspective. Maybe you can talk him into it when we see you guys the weekend after next!

Leave a Reply

