life with a dude

So much for the “series” of holiday posts I so ambitiously spoke of two weeks ago. I guess I realized that while some details I wanted to savor, there are many which are best forgotten and forgiven. Our holiday visits were nice, though fairly exhausting, bookended as they were by a nearly 700 mile drive.  I am eager to start making our own traditions, holiday and otherwise, in this quest for normalcy (while living a lifestyle that is anything but.)

Our foresight in planning a New Year’s getaway upon our return to DC was a stroke of genius.  Not only were we both exhausted and sorely in need of some forced relaxation, but New Year’s Eve is also our anniversary. Initially we had both signed up for a 4-day surf primer (mental health preparation for life in Luanda…) but as it approached, I decided that twice a day beach yoga suits me much better just now, and nicely compliments one of my many resolutions.

While Snakes heads down the beach with a long board under his arm to meet up with his new friends, “the dudes”, I wander across the lot next to our hotel to a tree canopied yoga studio. It’s surrounded by palms and other shady beach trees so it blocks the wind and sun.  I can hear the waves crashing while taking long deep breaths of the salty ocean air. Despite being particular about my yoga style, I’ve really enjoyed these relaxed but challenging classes. I am counting on it to recharge my own practice.

Last night we moseyed down the beach until the light faded, collecting beach glass while he regaled me with stories of surf adventures, peppered with new surfer dude vocab. Not sure if I should be concerned with how often “dude” comes up. I guess as long as he doesn’t use it when addressing me, we’ll be fine.

I hope you all have had a relaxing and energizing holiday season, hearts full of love and bellies full of good food. May 2011 be a banner year for us all, bursting with creativity, good health and love sweet love.

And to quote some other famous dudes, eleven can only be better.

Nigel Tufnel: The numbers all go to eleven. Look, right across the board, eleven, eleven, eleven and…
Marty DiBergi: Oh, I see. And most amps go up to ten?
Nigel Tufnel: Exactly.
Marty DiBergi: Does that mean it’s louder? Is it any louder?
Nigel Tufnel: Well, it’s one louder, isn’t it? It’s not ten. You see, most blokes, you know, will be playing at ten. You’re on ten here, all the way up, all the way up, all the way up, you’re on ten on your guitar. Where can you go from there? Where?
Marty DiBergi: I don’t know.
Nigel Tufnel: Nowhere. Exactly. What we do is, if we need that extra push over the cliff, you know what we do?
Marty DiBergi: Put it up to eleven.
Nigel Tufnel: Eleven. Exactly. One louder.
Marty DiBergi: Why don’t you just make ten louder and make ten be the top number and make that a little louder?
Nigel Tufnel: [pause] These go to eleven.
 

9 thoughts on “life with a dude

  1. -It’s like, how much more black could this be? and the answer is none. None more black.
    and
    -Dozens of people spontaneously combust each year. It’s just not really widely reported.
    Happy 11 to you and yours.
    hee hee

  2. Hahahahah! What movie is that from? I can remember the conversation just not the movie. Anyhow what a wonderful time for you both, I’m so glad you two got a chance to get away. Especially after all the pushing through you two have endured this past year. Tell David hello, and expect a call from me tomorrow/Thurs.
    Toodles of Love, Summer

  3. emily- you make me laugh. I hope neither of your sons (or your daughter) wants to be a drummer… I think I see a Christopher Guest box set in my not so distant future, as I prepare for the next two years of solitary.
    summer- “This is Spinal Tap”!!! Can’t wait to catch up and just for the record, I think we’ve had an incredibly remarkable year. I’d hesitate to use “endure” to describe any part of it. We have been SO VERY fortunate on many fronts. Let’s talk soon! xo

  4. I guess I was a little careless when I used the word “endure” I only ment that you two have worked very hard this year and I am pleased that you had a chance to lay back and bask.
    Later Dude!

Leave a Reply

