it happened.

We got the email Friday evening around 5:40. I was on my way out the door to a weekend long yoga intensive. Snakes had just left to take the dogs for a spin around the block.  As I was gathering my yoga props I heard him yelling my name from outside. I ran to the windows to see if he was being chased by hooligans. My first instinct was that something was terribly wrong, like maybe Banjo had gotten a dirty old syringe stuck in his tongue or one of the soiled diapers that pepper our landscape had wedged itself onto his curious snout. (weird, right?- that those are the first images that popped into my mind? I am glad we’re leaving this city soon… I need a fresh perspective.) I raced downstairs and met him at the lobby door, my heart racing.

“WHAT THE HELL?” I demanded.

“Just guess… you know!!… just guess”

“Seriously I don’t know. Are the dogs hurt?  sliced up paws from broken malt liquor bottles? What did Banjo do now?”

“We’re going out to dinner, baby! We are in!!!”

Lots of screaming and twirling, tails wagging, kissing, hugging, borderline hysteria on my part.  I went off to my class and when I returned we set off for one of our favorite Detroit restaurants, Micheal Symon’s Roast.  We had fabulous cocktails, dinner, and a total splurge bottle of wine, all while sorting out our next few weeks of planning parties, dinners and figuring out when I can give my notice at work (!!).

We’ll be in DC 8 weeks from today, Snakes will be in the May 10th class, specializing in public diplomacy. I will be found frequenting the dog parks and scoping out fabric stores and yoga studios. Hoping to find digs near friends in Capitol Hill. One last thing to mention… (perhaps TMI) a couple of weeks ago we built a little shrine and lit two candles, one for the foreign service and one for our “pregnancy project”. Candles were anointed and blessed by the candle shop owner and we’ve kept them burning continuously, olympic torch style.  We figured it couldn’t hurt our chances and maybe we were right.

16 thoughts on “it happened.

    1. Thank you! we are so very honored and excited to be joining the ranks. I’ve appreciated your site, so loaded with information and encouragement. Thank you for that.

  1. I wandered over from another blog. Hope you don’t mind.

    Congratulations! I would be interested to see your yoga recommendations once you get to DC.

    1. Full disclosure- I’m an “iyengar girl”. So I’m most likely predestined to go to one of john schumacher’s studios, unity woods, I believe. whichever we end up closest to with housing. Is your husband starting the march 29th class? I see from your blog that you’re in the middle of moving… Good luck!

      1. Nope. It’s me starting in March. And I’m more of a “random” yoga girl. I’ll probably head to whichever one is closest to Falls Church and not at a bad time. You can see how partial I am. 🙂

  2. Congratulations! I saw your comment on the diplojournal blog and had to comment here – I’ll be joining the May 10th class as well so I think we’ll be meeting each other shortly!

    I’m actually a DC local and my partner is a yoga instructor so we’d be happy to give you recommendations on yoga studios in DC and Northern Virginia.

    1. Congratulations to you too! Will your partner pursue yoga teaching abroad? Even if it’s for FSOs and “EFM”s. Could be a pretty cool gig.
      We are in the process of signing a lease on a place in Capitol Hill. Any yoga suggestions around that area would be great! Thank you.

      1. My partner is actually going to try and continue working for her current employer in some form or fashion when we’re abroad. If that doesn’t work out, I’ve been encouraging her to consider teaching yoga for the FSOs and EFMs, as you mentioned. I think it would be a great thing for everyone! I’ve asked her to recommend some DC studios for you, but if you’re an Iyengar girl then Unity Woods is probably your best bet. Unfortunately, the Bethesda and Arlington studios will both be a hike for you but it will be worth it! We love Iyengar too.

      2. actually there’s one in woodley park and although it has an abbreviated schedule, I think it’ll work out fine. It’s like a 20-30 minute bike ride from where we’re staying. I look forward to meeting you both!

  3. Just stumbled upon your blog from another that I read regulary. Congrats on your new life! I am not that far removed from that thrill of getting the official notice that you are in. We couldn’t be happier with our decision to join (I am the spouse, he is an IMTS). Cute blog 🙂

Leave a comment